HomeEpisodesS2 E01

Episode 7 : The New Menace

After the battle, The Star Force repair their ship and lick their wounds. But news of a grave new threat prompts the Argo to a new course of action.

Way back when I first sat down to write Sea of Stars in 2006, it was supposed to run an even ten episodes.

As I got into it, however, I realized that there was almost no focus on the Comet Empire, aside from a few commander characters we see here and there. Also, it would probably damage the pacing too severely if I went back and added in scenes about the actual Imperial family, aside form their brief introduction in episodes five and six. Further, I didn't think I could keep the immediacy of the threat to earth going for that long. The Scourge fleet had to show up about when it did.

The result, was that ten episodes became two six-episode seasons.

I think it worked rather well. The story flows, the characters get more time to reveal complexity... and I can change the tone a bit between the two seasons without sacrificing the immediacy I fought so hard for.

For fans of Star Blazers/Yamato, we get to meet an old friend in Emperor Desslok, and Harlock FINALLY strolls aboard the Argo. We also get to meet the final member of the Imperial family, Prince Darcal (aside from his brief appearance back in the Invasion! special).

A new season, a new alliance... and a new menace.

The road gets bumpier.


Direct Download


  • Sea of Stars is written, produced and directed by Devin Cox, of Forward Momentum Productions.
  • All music in the series is drawn from several commercially released CDs of music from the original animated series “Uchuu Senkan Yamato.” Many of the CDS have long since gone out of print, though some may still be importable through Amazon.com.
  • All the sound effects for Sea of Stars come from one of three sources: The original Star Blazers dvds; the “Sound Fantasia Yamato” CDs which are now out of print; and The Freesound Project, at freesound.org.


  • Narrator: Mark “The ENCaffinated ONE” Kilfoil
  • Desslok: R. Douglas Barbieri
  • Captain Derek Wildstar: Joe Harrison
  • Captain Harlock: Dylan Spencer
  • Michael Vega: Sean Hill
  • Arcadia Controler: Josh Lambright
  • Pirate 1: Andrew Seally
  • Pirate 2: Matthew R. Smathers
  • Thomas Vega: Jason Ramboz
  • Most Holy Xavier: Nathan Butler
  • Pops McClendon: Devlin James
  • Mei Gideon: Silas Carder
  • Philippe de LaRoche: Allan Smithee
  • Emperor Jahmorta: Jim Perry
  • Crown Prince Darcal: Eric Olp
  • Imperial Princess Izri: Natalie Van Sistine
  • Admiral Kahn: Jonathan Edward Dolnier (aka Pokejedservo)
  • General Singleton: Sarah Moore
  • Trelena: Peg DiGrazia

Album Art of the Episode